Main content

Maxwell’s demon with a Szilard box, as proposed by Bennett. A measurement detects on which side of the inserted separator the particle is, and extracts work with a piston in either case. The cylinder is left in its original state, apparently creating a perpetuum mobile with net work gain. However, the measurement outcome (represented by ‘L’ or ‘R’) had to be stored in a memory register, which was initially in some pure state (represented by ‘—’) and the work cost of resetting it to a pure state again compensates the work gain.

News

13.09.2016

New Group Member

We are happy to welcome Gilles Pütz in our group. As of this week Gilles will join us as a PostDoc. Gilles recently completed his PhD in the group of Nicolas Gisin in Geneva and will continue his work on foundations and quantum information in Zurich. Read more 

05.09.2016

New PhD Student

We are happy to announce that Jinzhao Wang has started in our group as a PhD student this week. All the best for your time in Zurich! Read more 

30.05.2016

Thesis Distribution Meeting

Students who are interested in working on a thesis in the Quantum Information Theory group are invited to come to our semestral thesis distribution meeting next Thursday, 2 June, at 4pm. We will meet in front of HIT K 41.2 and present an overview of current research topics from our group. Read more 

Events

QIT Group Meeting

Tuesday, 20 September 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- Henrik Wilming (Berlin)

Monday, 19 September 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- Axel Dahlberg (Master's Thesis)

Wednesday, 14 September 2016
14:00 E41.1 -- Mischa Woods

Monday, 5 September 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- Rotem Arnon-Friedman

Monday, 15 August 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- No Meeting

Monday, 8 August 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- No Meeting

Monday, 1 August 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- No Meeting

Monday, 11 July 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- Jean-Daniel Bancal (Basel)

Monday, 4 July 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- No Meeting

Monday, 27 June 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- No Meeting

Wednesday, 15 June 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- Cornelia Spee (Innsbruck)

Monday, 13 June 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- No meeting

Friday, 10 June 2016
14:00 E41.1 -- Oscar Dahlsten (Oxford)

Monday, 6 June 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- Vojtech Havlicek (ETH)

Friday, 3 June 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- Postponed to Monday

Monday, 30 May 2016
16:00 E41.1 --Djordje Pantic and Jens Jäger (Master's and Semester Theses)       

Friday, 20 May 2016
14:00 E41.1 -- David Jennings (Imperial)

Friday, 13 May 2016
16:00 E41.1 --  

Friday, 6 May 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- Andrei Lebedev (ETH)

Friday, 29 April 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- What's up?

Friday, 22 April 2016
16:00 E41.1 -- New time for QIT Group Meeting

Monday, 18 April 2016
No Group Meeting (Sechseläuten)

Monday, 11 April 2016
16:30 E41.1 -- Joe Renes

Monday, 4 April 2016
16:30 E41.1 -- Frederik Lohof (Master's Thesis)

Monday, 27 March 2016
No group meeting (Easter)

Monday, 21 March 2016
16:30 E41.1 -- Christian Klumpp (Master's Thesis)

Friday, 18 March 2016
15:30  E41.1 -- Martí Perarnau (ICFO)

Monday, 14 March 2016
16:30 E41.1 -- Elisa Bäumer (Master's Thesis)

Monday, 7 March 2016
16:30  E41.1 -- Roland Riek (ETH)

Monday, 29 February 2016
16:30  K52 -- Matthias Strodtkoetter (Master's thesis)

Monday, 22 February 2016
15:15  E41.1 -- Michael Walter (Stanford)

Monday, 15 February 2016
15:15  E41.1 -- Tobias Sutter (ETH)

Monday, 1 February 2016
15:15 E41.1 -- Karen Hovhannisyan (ICFO)

Monday, 25 January 2016
15:15 K51 -- QIP review

 
 
Page URL: http://www.qit.ethz.ch/
Sat Oct 01 02:19:23 CEST 2016
© 2016 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich